Problem displaying folders

The place for "I can't figure out how to..." questions.
Post Reply
Laszlo
User
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 4:47 am

Problem displaying folders

Post by Laszlo » Mon Sep 25, 2006 5:08 am

Hi there, I spent a couple of hours trying to find info on this problem without any luck.. I am well and truly stuck ... just like my php script ... :)
My problem is:
When I run demo.browse.php and try to read the data from one of my folders on the server, after 20-25 sec. the script would give up and give me a HTTP 500 - Internal server error, one of those: "The page cannot be displayed" white screens...

demo.browse.php works on most of the directories but it fails on the folder where I keep my sample mp3 files... (I have app. 200 highly compressed mp3 files in this directory.)

If I upload just a few sample (mp3) files to another folder, the script works. I spent hours trying to troubleshoot but I could not isolate which file or files are causing the problem....... I can't figure it out; looks like I need expert advice....
Where do I start? Is this an ID tag or server or script related problem?
Please help.

Im using getid 3-1.7.7

PHP ver. PHP v5.1.6

I set php.ini to display error messages, but the demo.browse.php script just fails without any warning.
Here is my php.ini script. I am on a shared (Apache) server.

Code: Select all

[PHP]
display_errors = On

allow_call_time_pass_reference = Off	
magic_quotes_gpc = Off			
output_buffering = 4096			
register_argc_argv = Off		
register_globals = Off			
register_long_arrays = Off		
variables_order = "GPCS"		
zlib.output_compression = On		

error_reporting = E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE & ~E_STRICT
fastcgi.log = 0
max_execution_time = 90
max_input_time = 60
memory_limit = 32M
safe_mode_exec_dir =
upload_max_filesize = 100M
;include_path = ".:/usr/local/share/pear"

[Session]
session.bug_compat_42 = 0
session.gc_divisor = 1000
session.hash_bits_per_character = 5

;[eaccelerator]	
;;extension="eaccelerator.so"		
;eaccelerator.cache_dir="/tmp"
;eaccelerator.shm_size="4"
;eaccelerator.shm_only="1"

; All PHP5 extensions are dynamic and could be loaded on demand.
; The following ones used to be pre-loaded by default in PHP4,
; so we keep these enabled for backward compatibility:
extension=ctype.so
; extension=xslt.so

extension=mysql.so
extension=pcre.so
extension=posix.so
extension=session.so
extension=tokenizer.so
extension=xml.so
extension=zlib.so

; extension=curl.so
; extension=ftp.so
 extension=gd.so
;extension=gettext.so
;extension=iconv.so
;extension=imap.so
;extension=mbstring.so
;extension=mcrypt.so
;extension=mhash.so
;extension=openssl.so
;extension=simplexml.so
;extension=sockets.so
;extension=sqlite.so
;extension=dom.so
;extension=xsl.so

Thanks,

Laszlo

Allan Hansen
getID3() v2 developer
Posts: 445
Joined: Sun May 04, 2003 2:22 pm
Location: Holmegaard, Denmark

Post by Allan Hansen » Mon Sep 25, 2006 10:03 am

It is difficult to answer your question. There can be numerous causes for your problem. I am going to explore two possibilities here. If neither work I will have to come up with something better...

A. One or more of your files are currupted. Try analyzing them one of a time or divide and conquer. (Split your 200 files into more directories, run the browse script on these directories. Ignore all directories that pass, split the other ones into even smaller parts).

B. Turn off output buffering in php.ini and try to see the page with the Firefox browser. Firefox have some advantages on the browse script.


Since you are using PHP5, you could test drive getid3() 2.0.0b3. It reads everything 1.7.7 does and tag-writing a feature soon to come.

Laszlo
User
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 4:47 am

Post by Laszlo » Thu Sep 28, 2006 1:46 am

Thanks Allan

It was a corrupt file, but I could not isolate which one, demo.browse.php kept failing randomly... most likely my problem was caused by more than one file, I just cleaned up the filenames and the ID tags locally and uploaded them again to a different folder.. My guess is, it was caused by some unsupported ID tags or the contents of ID tags... I don't want to spend any more time troubleshooting (unless of course you ask me to do so) since the program is working fine now... bugger those files I stripped them of all ID info except the ID3 v.1. and ID3 v.2. tags. everything works great.

Thanks again
Laszlo

Allan Hansen
getID3() v2 developer
Posts: 445
Joined: Sun May 04, 2003 2:22 pm
Location: Holmegaard, Denmark

Post by Allan Hansen » Thu Sep 28, 2006 8:29 am

Random failures is one of the hardest thing to debug. I would really like a copy of one of the currupts files in order to fix the bug that caused your problem. But it sounds like it is too late?

Laszlo
User
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 4:47 am

Post by Laszlo » Tue Oct 03, 2006 6:23 am

Nop, it isn't. The files are still there.. and they are still corrupted :) I just checked them...
I could send you an FTP login but how??
I wanted to send a PM for you but PMs are disabled.
Send me an email, u can use my email address from my profile.

Laszlo

Post Reply