Problems with calculating bitrate for videofiles

The place for "I can't figure out how to..." questions.
eLucy
User

Problems with calculating bitrate for videofiles

Post by eLucy » Wed Nov 08, 2006 6:12 pm

Hello togeather,

i'm quite new to programming in PHP, in fact i'm quite new to programming in genereal ;) But anyhow, i got getid3 working and it serves me pretty well. The only difficulty i have is as follows:

As you can probably imagine i use the scripts to write the data i retrieve from it to a database. Now i found the value telling me the bitrate for the audio portion of the file but the bitrate results given by the script is a very large number and i simple do not know how to convert them into my desired unit, means converting the value given"bitrate value: 1252293.86104" into kBit/s. I tried many things to derive a function from the wide variety of values given, but unfotunately i didn't find the right solution. Like in this special case, my OS tells me the file runs with 162KBit/s.Can anybody plaese help me i just can't figure it out.

Jan

Allan Hansen
getID3() v2 developer

Post by Allan Hansen » Wed Nov 08, 2006 7:18 pm

getID3() provides bitrate as bits per second (bps).

Divide bps value by 1000 and you kilobits per second.

Divide bps value by 8 and you get bytes per second
Divide bps value by (8x1024) and you get kilobytes per second.

In your case, the 1252293.86104 bps = 1252 kilobits per second, which is a rather high number, even for lossless compression. Are you sure you read the correct value?

eLucy
User

Post by eLucy » Wed Nov 08, 2006 7:54 pm

Hello and thank you very much for your fast reply.