Codepages (Russian)

Comments and questions that doest not fit anywhere else.
Locked
DangerD
User
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 5:05 pm

Codepages (Russian)

Post by DangerD » Tue Dec 19, 2006 5:23 pm

I'm russian speaking user and i have big music archive with russian music. But many files has different codepages.
Can you make auto determination of codepage which is used in id3?

Allan Hansen
getID3() v2 developer
Posts: 445
Joined: Sun May 04, 2003 2:22 pm
Location: Holmegaard, Denmark

Post by Allan Hansen » Tue Dec 19, 2006 5:29 pm

No

Your files are currupt unless they use ISO-8859-1 for ID3v1.

ID3v2 can contain cyrillic characters, but they must be written in UTF-8. Some taggers use CP1251 instead of ISO-8859-1 for ID3v2 as well. These files are currupt as well.

There are override options for both v1 and v2, but it is impossible to auto detect a charset.

DangerD
User
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 5:05 pm

Post by DangerD » Tue Dec 19, 2006 5:36 pm

But, how, for exlample Winamp understands it?

Allan Hansen
getID3() v2 developer
Posts: 445
Joined: Sun May 04, 2003 2:22 pm
Location: Holmegaard, Denmark

Post by Allan Hansen » Tue Dec 19, 2006 9:58 pm

Because Winamp incorrectly use the system codepage instead of the codepage specified in the format.

UTF-8/UNICODE is a rather old invention that preceeds MP3/ID3. But it doesn't work in Win95/98/ME, so most people did not use it until recently...

DangerD
User
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 5:05 pm

Post by DangerD » Tue Dec 19, 2006 10:06 pm

Can you make changes to make incorect using system codepage to display correct symbols? :D

Allan Hansen
getID3() v2 developer
Posts: 445
Joined: Sun May 04, 2003 2:22 pm
Location: Holmegaard, Denmark

Post by Allan Hansen » Tue Dec 19, 2006 10:19 pm

Yes. I already told you there are override options.

See getid3.php (somewhere near the top) or search this forum for "Russian" or "Chinese".

DangerD
User
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 5:05 pm

Post by DangerD » Tue Dec 19, 2006 10:27 pm

find this:
$getid3->encoding = 'UTF-8';

but i can change only to one codepage, this is only a part of files, other part in cp1251 for example...

Allan Hansen
getID3() v2 developer
Posts: 445
Joined: Sun May 04, 2003 2:22 pm
Location: Holmegaard, Denmark

Post by Allan Hansen » Tue Dec 19, 2006 10:29 pm

In the future, try a little harder.

By searching for "Russian", as I suggested, you find this thread:
http://www.getid3.org/phpBB2/viewtopic. ... ht=russian

Locked